RESTORED

How did my life get so tilted
A mountain strewn with jagged rocks
Rises before me
Courage I held yesterday shrinks
Receding to a nearby cavern
Likely filled with demons

Alone
My heart in my throat
I anticipate failure
And likely destruction

Where is that firm nugget of hope
I forsook
That certainty of victory
In the struggle with sin

My Lord and my God
I’ve abandoned you
My friend
My lifeline

How could I have forgotten
To grasp Your outstretched hand
Now, uncertain and lost
I hear You calling
Take My hand child
I still love you

As I grasp your nail-pierced hand
I remember
You bought me with Your blood
I embrace Your love
Vow to keep You my constant
Your abode is my sanctuary
Your sacrifice my salvation

2 comments so far

  1. Linda Holthaus on

    WOW! That’s potent Betsy! Linda

    • betsyborchardt on

      I didn’t know how this post would be received, Linda. It was a heavy subject to write about. We all need to keep hold of Jesus’ hand and never let go. Thanks much for commenting.
      Betsy


Leave a Reply

