PERSEVERANCE REQUIRED

How many times lately, outside of church, have you spoken to others about your faith in God? For myself, I do not measure up in this area. Sure, I write this blog and have written a wonderful book, THE CASTING OF CROWNS, about relationships with God in the Last Days, for which I continue to seek out a traditional publisher. But witnessing in person rather than in writing is, I think, harder hitting.

I recently accepted a volunteer position at church as a greeter. I had forgotten how satisfying and rewarding contact with people can be even while stepping out of my comfort zone. And there is no other place I’d rather help people feel welcome. But that’s just a start.

What about neighbors, friends, and family? I’ve spoken to them in the past about God, but many of them rejected God’s truths as revealed in the Bible. Some of my neighbors don’t care to go to church at all. Their lifestyles don’t include reliance on God for their needs. All I can do is befriend them, reflect Christ’s image, and pray for them. Perhaps a crisis in their lives will drive them to God’s door. In the Bible, Jesus tells the church at Laodicea, prophetically the Last Days church, “Here I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him , and he with me” (Rev. 3:20). We need to encourage others to open the door and commune with Him.

What a marvelous relationship with Jesus will ensue. He is our Redeemer, bound to offer us, as sinners, with everything we need to overcome the power of Satan. Jesus promises: “To him who overcomes, I give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I overcame and sat down with my Father on his throne” (Rev. 3:21).

There is nothing more rewarding than leading someone to Jesus. However, it requires patience and perseverance. Never stop praying for those relatives of yours who need Christ in order to overcome. Don’t be afraid to witness to others who need caring friends to introduce them to God’s unconditional love, that healing balm which produces a sense of purpose and the hope of salvation.

—Scripture quotaions taken from NIV Bible—

2 comments so far

  1. Barbie Dickson on

    Dear Betsy; Hi! 🙂 It is hard to witness in person . I have never led anyone to Christ in person and I have been a Christian for 40 yrs, is that sad or what? I feel so lukewarm sometimes. 😦 I was asked to lead a Bible study here at our apartment bldg. 🙂 They told me that they felt that I knew much more about the Bible than them. I’m not so sure about that. I was honored, but we haven’t started yet. I need a fire in my heart and under my feet! Thank you for sharing this message. 🙂 Love-in-Christ, Barb 🙂

    Date: Tue, 22 Jul 2014 15:42:33 +0000 To: saved1974@hotmail.com

    • betsyborchardt on

      Hi Barb,
      Thanks for your comment that I think embodies most peoples’ feelings and experience with witnessing. We are like the Laodicean church that Jesus said in the book of Revelation is lukewarm. Jesus warns we need to be excited about Him, on fire for Him or He will spew us out of His mouth. One thing I can suggest is to pray every morning for the Holy Spirit to embolden us and strengthen us to reach out to others each day. This may mean a kind word or our relating to someone how much our faith in God helped us get through, for example, the death of a loved one. Leading someone to Christ is something that comes further on down the road. As for the Bible study you’ve been asked to give, pray for guidance and if it
      is something you feel called by God to do, believe that you can do it for He will empower you to do it. If while communing with God you do not feel called to lead a Bible study at this time, simply decline.

      May God bless your efforts.
      Betsy


Leave a Reply

