LEARNING LOVE

My journey is near over
And what do I have to speak of?
Widespread fame
Fame fanning the flames of a wildfire,
An endless exaltation spread across the land.
Remembered by many but having engaged with few.
Can a love be recalled for years after?
Fierce compassionate love lives ages,
Touching hearts, healing souls,
As does Jesus’ love for each hurting human.
For we all hurt in tempest times,
Lost and alone in our pain.
He teaches love.
Compassionate love.
Always our Friend,
Showing us a pattern to engage others with purpose
In giving our love as He did,
Unselfishly, unconditionally.

As partakers of divine love
His grace covers like dew.
Now sprouting, blossoming like a flower
I send forth my distinctive scent,
Engaging many who pass
To share love given us by our Savior.
Though I stretch toward the heavens
I bend, toward those craving compassionate love.
In growing to know each soul
I repose at last,
My journey well spent
For I bowed to Jesus,
Allowing Him to be my Teacher.

4 comments so far

  1. Bill on

    Good one, Betsy. Lots of good lesson in there and feeling too.

    • betsyborchardt on

      Bill,
      Thanks for reading and commenting. Your input is appreciated.
      Betsy

  2. Men of One Accord on

    Betsy, I understand this poem so deeply the painting is truly clear! Blessings my sister in Christ, James

    • betsyborchardt on

      James,
      Thank you for the wonderful comment. Blessings to you in Christ Jesus.
      Betsy


Leave a Reply

